The Offense of the Drum


1. Cuarto de Colores

2. They Came

3. On the Corner of Malecón and Bourbon
4. Mercado en Domingo
5. Gnossienne 3 (Tientos)
6. The Mad Hatter
7. The Offense of the Drum
8. Alma Vacía

9. Iko Iko



GRAMMY Award, Best Latin Jazz Album, 57th GRAMMY Awards

Latin GRAMMY nomination, Best Latin Jazz Album, 15th Latin GRAMMY Awards

Best International Album, 2015 Cubadisco Awards

Ranked #1 Latin Album of 2014 NPR Music Jazz Critics Poll

One of NPR’s Favorite Albums of 2014 (So Far)

iTunes Jazz Best of 2014 List

DownBeat Best of 2014 List



“By virtue of its disciplined execution, cultural queries, and celebratory inspiration, The Offense of the Drum is not only O’Farrill & the Afro Latin Jazz Orchestra’s most ambitious moment to date, but its finest on record.”
All Music


The Offense of the Drum is one of those moments when the course of music with a long tradition is altered slightly — when music moves forward in a subtle and graceful way that’s likely to have a lasting impact… The Offense of the Drum transforms big-band Latin jazz into something familiar, but with a new look.”


“The grand, voracious sweep of Latin jazz continues to be a potent cause for the pianist and composer Arturo O’Farrill… [The Offense of the Drum] revolves around the elemental purpose of drumming, with guests including Samuel Torres on cajón and Hiro Kurashima on taiko drums; even some of the more melodic interlopers, like the harpist Edmar Castañeda and the pianist Vijay Iyer, serve a percussive function.”
The New York Times



Recorded January 7-8, 2013 at Avatar Studio C, NYC


Producers: Arturo O’Farrill, Todd Barkan, Eric Oberstein, Kabir Sehgal

Executive Producer: Kabir Sehgal


Recording Engineer: Katherine Miller

Mixing: Katherine Miller, Arturo O’Farrill

Mastering: Alan Silverman


The Afro Latin Jazz Orchestra:

Arturo O’Farrill – piano, music director

Bobby Porcelli – alto sax (lead)

Peter Brainin – tenor sax

Ivan Renta – tenor sax (lead)

David DeJesus – alto sax

Jason Marshall – baritone sax

Seneca Black – trumpet (lead)

Jim Seeley – trumpet

John Bailey- trumpet

Jonathan Powell – trumpet

Tokunori Kajiwara – trombone (lead)

Rafi Malkiel – trombone & euphonium

Frank Cohen – trombone

Earl McIntyre – bass trombone & tuba

Gregg August – bass

Vince Cherico – drums

Roland Guerrero – congas

Joe Gonzalez – bongos & bell


Featured Guests:

Pablo O. Bilbraut – percussion (8)
Miguel Blanco – conductor (5, 8)
Christopher “Chilo” Cajigas – spoken word (2)
Edmar Castañeda – harp (1)
Ayanda Clarke – djembe (7)
DJ Logic – turntables (2)
Jonathan Gómez – percussion (4)
Nestor Gómez – percussion (4)
Donald Harrison – vocals & alto sax (9)
Vijay Iyer – piano (6)
Hiro Kurashima – taiko drum (7)
Chad Lefkowitz-Brown – tenor sax (7)
Jason Lindner – conductor (2)
Antonio Lizana – vocals & alto sax (5)
Pablo Mayor – conductor & maracas (4)
Uri Sharlin – accordion (5)
Samuel Torres – conductor & cajón (1)

Arturo O'Farrill & the Afro Latin Jazz Orchestra
Release Date

May 6, 2014

Motema Music
About This Project

The drum takes center stage as GRAMMY winners Arturo O’Farrill & the Afro Latin Jazz Orchestra engage nearly 30 types of percussion to explore whole new territories for Afro Latin jazz. High profile multi-genre guests including Vijay Iyer, DJ Logic, rapper Chilo, Donald Harrison, and Colombian harp star Edmar Castañeda bring their unique flavors to this international Latin jazz party, where Cuba meets New Orleans, South America, and Africa.

Listen/buy online: 
Motema Music